Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

 About DQA

​Dubai Quality Award is not yet another initiative an organisation can embrace; it is a framework that ensures that all different initiatives are pulling in the desired direction. The methodology and main criteria of the award are encapsulated in a model outlined in this document. This model provides organisations with a tool to benchmark performance and document existing gaps.

The Dubai Quality Award, initiated in 1994, is based on the Excellence Model used by the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM). The latter has been successfully applied in European private and public sector organisations since 1992.

This model provides a holistic framework for organisational excellence. All nine criteria work as one complete system, such that any deficiency in one area will affect the score in other areas. The model does not deny that the system has parts, but it focuses on the whole, where the whole is larger than the sum of its parts. The model was designed to be non-prescriptive, to acknowledge the fact that there may be more than one approach for achieving excellence. To help you implement our Model, we provide training, assessment tools and recognition.



Applicants of the Dubai Quality Award must demonstrate sustained continual improvement. They should focus on the improvement process and not only on winning the award trophy. That is because the journey for excellence and the improvement activities will be much more valuable for organisations than winning a trophy.

 For more information please contact the Business Excellence Center by calling +971 4 4455833 or through email 

Skip Navigation Linksaboutdqa